1427. Women Rule Unless They Don’t


My favorite hunkette, Mrs. Guy, has loved a famous saying for many years. It’s the title of a poem, a tribute to the influence and glory the female gender holds for the world.

Blessings on the hand of women!
Angels guard its strength and grace,
In the palace, cottage, hovel,
Oh, no matter where the place;
Would that never storms assailed it,
Rainbows ever gently curled;
For the hand that rocks the cradle
Is the hand that rules the world.
 
Infancy’s the tender fountain,
Power may with beauty flow,
Mother’s first to guide the streamlets,
From them souls unresting grow–
Grow on for the good or evil,
Sunshine streamed or evil hurled;
For the hand that rocks the cradle
Is the hand that rules the world.
 
Woman, how divine your mission
Here upon our natal sod!
Keep, oh, keep the young heart open
Always to the breath of God!
All true trophies of the ages
Are from mother-love impearled;
For the hand that rocks the cradle
Is the hand that rules the world.
 
Blessings on the hand of women!
Fathers, sons, and daughters cry,
And the sacred song is mingled
With the worship in the sky–
Mingles where no tempest darkens,
Rainbows evermore are hurled;
For the hand that rocks the cradle
Is the hand that rules the world.   
                                    William Ross Wallace

As you’ve concluded, the refrain repeats the oft-shortened title: “The Hand That Rocks The Cradle Is The Hand That Rules The World”.

6 Comments

Filed under Her glory

6 responses to “1427. Women Rule Unless They Don’t

  1. Anon

    Whats you mean is LADIES RULE….women dont…pretty girls are a ~dime a dozen~so girls have to reclaim being ladies so men could be gentlemen again,….not wimpy or macho

  2. (I hope this comment isn’t misplaced – I am not sure where else to post this)

    First, I want to say that I love what you’re doing. I love this blog. IMO, the BEST advice I have ever seen or heard for women. This is brilliant. From my years of life experience – (which I stuggled through without any guidance), I can say, from lessons learned, that this stuff you are saying is right on the money. I wish I had had someone there for me to tell me all this stuff when I was young – it would have saved me from ALOT of personal pain and sorrow (and a suicide attempt) over the years; not merely from stupid choices – also from terrible misunderstandings of how men think, and why men have said and done the things they have.
    And now, my comment…
    I’m afraid my comment is more relevent to an earlier post than this one, but I’m not sure how far you go back though comments to read and respond.
    Here is my current situation :
    I am facing a daunting task in my life right now. I am a 30 y.o., never married woman on her own. For the past 8 months, I have been involved with a 41 y.o. man who was recently divorced.

    Sadly, the descent of their once-happy home into sexlessness, bitterness, ‘tit-for-tat’ vengence, and constant fighting, and the crumbling of their 10 year marriage, has turned him against marriage to ANYONE at ANYTIME in the future. I realize that I may be the one who could, perhaps, bring him back from where he is now, turning his head back towards positve thoughts of marriage, family, and the home – **if I play my cards right.**

    But what a responsibility!! I have already made so many mistakes with him, but he has stuck around because, deep down, I think he really does want to feel most important in a woman’s life, despite his negitivity to marriage, and that is something he can only get through a consistent relationship. He really wants things to work with me… oh and he is crazy attracted to me (and I won’t let him touch me). I lack relationship experience though, so I am really struggling. (practice makes perfect and I have little practice). I really think I can turn things around, but I need HELP. This blog is my support system – and my only one. I frequently stop by here to reread entries, for tips, encouragement, and good advice.

    In closing, thank you so much for this blog!! Any woman who says this blog is B.S., or anti-female, reveals her own ignorance about men. As a 100% pro-female female who has ‘been there, done that’, I can testify that the contents of this blog gives knowledge and advice that is sound, solid, accurate, realistic, and NEEDED.
    Sincerely,
    NC

    Your Highness NC,
    I responded with today’s daily article 1428.
    Guy

    • That Horse Is Dead...

      Hello Narisaclark,
      Thank you for sharing your story here and I love Guy’s response. Something you said above makes my stomach sink as a woman, “This blog is my support system – and my only one. I frequently stop by here to reread entries, for tips, encouragement, and good advice.”

      You need friends to meet this man. At minimum, to be a sounding board. “Mature”, godly women friends will be able to see what you can’t, especially red flags — and pray with you and for you about truth being revealed. Not saying he’s not good enough, but isolation is dangerous in many ways.

      Your Highness That Horse is Dead,
      Point especially well taken and especially well made. Thanks.
      Guy

  3. Abigail

    I look forward to hearing Sir Guy’s response. 🙂

  4. kaikou

    This is not directed this post, but I wanted to inquire about how does a feminine woman deal with feminist women? I am surrounded by them and one has set her sights on me as an enemy. I really think it has to do with a falling out she had with her male mentor (who she also had intimate relationship with) who is now taking me under his wing because I reached for my career. Thoughts?

    Your Highness Kaikou,
    These thoughts come to mind. Act more feminine the more enemy-like she becomes. Don’t stoop to her level or let her push you into getting upset. Show extreme calmness and as much silence as possible if and when she picks on you. Don’t think about what others may think if she tries to make you look bad. Don’t complain, don’t explain, don’t do what she expects. And, don’t develop a relationship with your mentor. Let her think he’s not good enough for you. Start that way and then feel your way to overcoming whatever pressure she applies.
    Guy

Leave a Reply

