2358. What Grace Did for Me


Recalling a better time, I jotted down a few things Her Majesty Grace used to do habitually. I’m going out of town today; thought I would leave them with you.

  • “We” don’t do things; “he” does it. For example, when she talked to others about going somewhere or doing something, she said it like this: “He took me to breakfast today at … and then took me shopping at….” (Incidentally, we gave up a second car after 25 years of marriage in order to bring us closer together; it worked too.)
  • She would always leave me the last bite of dessert we might be sharing or of hers if we had separate desserts.
  • She recognized and took gentle, unobtrusive, almost undetectable action when I need to be ‘perked up’. Usually something of my interest.
  • She grabbed my hand when walking. Fear of appearing as an old, dilapidated couple prevented her holding onto my arm.
  • Before I started going to church and she took the boys, she fixed a breakfast for me each Sunday.
  • When I got riled up, she departed my company. Thus, she gained silent influence over my stubbornness. I think she thought it best for me to stew in guilt, and sometimes I did.

Women cooking for their man is one of the vital ingredients that compounds mutual respect one gender for the other. Unless under a negative emotion, she can’t care for him without caring for him, and vice versa. Also, he can’t care much for her without action that demonstrates she likes him and vice versa. Food puts them on common ground.

And that’s the news today on WhatWomenNeverHear aka Maalox for relationship reflux.

reflux, Maalox, What Women Never Hear, stubborn, church, Sunday, guilt,

10 Comments

Filed under Her glory, marriage

10 responses to “2358. What Grace Did for Me

  1. Sir Guy

    What a priceless bit of advice, not “we” but “he”. I saw the same good use of semantics play out in my parent’s marriage. My mother never referred to my dad as “daddy” but always “your daddy” – this kept their relationship more like boyfriend/girlfriend. Growing up I was initially confused by other mums calling their husbands “daddy” in front of their children and then as I got older and thought the name through I was repulsed. Thankyou.

    I would be interested, if you ever had time, how the Lord gave Grace wisdom during the days when you did not attend church as regards her wish that you would go too. She surely was one wise lady.

    Your Highness Thankful,
    She patiently and expertly lived a good Christian life. She led by example, and I learned to follow a good leader to the most pleasant side of life. Never any pressure applied to me.
    Guy

  2. Shermy

    Seems so simple!

  3. prettybeans

    The title ‘Her Majesty’ suits her perfectly..what a lady

  4. It’s always the simple things, isn’t it? I’m so sorry Grace is no longer here in the physical but am most sure that she’s with you still. Safe travels. BTW, I won David’s heart with banana muffins. They didn’t have nuts in them. He hates muffins with nuts. He thought it was a sign!

    Your Highness Amy Junod,
    Welcome aboard. It’s a great day when another pretty woman joins us on this cruise to WhatWomenNeverHear.
    Guy

  5. Lyndeeloo

    I think this is just beautiful! 🙂

    My fiancé came across some photographs and other belongings of his grandparents, including a book from his grandmother’s bridal shower. In it, her mother, aunts, sisters, and friends had written advice for a happy marriage. There were all sorts of charming things written. One of the women said she recommended that the wife wake up at the same time as the husband and make breakfast for him.

    My fiancé and I read the book together and I asked him if any of the advice stood out to him as something he believed to be especially true, and the one about waking up together/breakfast was his favorite.

    I wouldn’t have guessed this to be so important to a man!

    Your Highness Lyndeeloo,

    Waking up and breakfasting together — or not?

    If marital glue isn’t applied first thing in the morning, much of the day passes without it. I lived both way through both periods and years. Marital connectivity weakened considerably from starting the day in separate ways.

    Out of the way, out of the mind. Out of the eyes, less attention to pay. Out of hearing, less remembering to do.

    Guy

  6. MT

    Sounds to me Grace was the epitome of womanhood. This is what I strive for. Thank you for sharing her with us.

  7. curlyblondy

    how i love these! 🙂 hoping for more….

  8. Cinnamon

    Sir Guy,

    I wanted to wish you an early Merry Christmas since I will not be on the computer over the next several days. I don’t know what articles you are working on right now, but since Grace is one of your subjects at the moment will you consider writing more about the following two topics?

    (1) Why you were soured on marriage when you met her and how she changed your mind and
    (2) How you and Grace came to the conclusions that you did about men and women that inspired you to start this ministry.

    Your Highness Cinnamon,

    1) I wasn’t actually soured on marriage when I told her that. It was lack of interest; I threw it out on the table to let her know I wasn’t interested. How was I to know she would take it as a challenge? She changed my mind by being a beautiful redhead, likeable enough to win my loyalty and dedication to her alone, and cunning enough to know what to say and not say to defer conquest on her terms.

    2) It was more of a ‘must do’ than just conclusion. After 50 years of studying and teaching motivation on the job scene where both sexes are expected to fulfill the mission of an organization, I was challenged to examine them as different. The results astounded me and Grace pledged her help to criticize and publish. After fruitless efforts at articles and books, my son set up the blog and the rest is endless reading.

    Guy

  9. Cinnamon

    I wanted to draw readers’ attention to the fact that there are new comments showing up in the RSS feed from the MAKE MARRIAGE WORK article (at the top of the blog) that don’t appear to be showing up under the “Recent Comments” section on the right-hand side of the blog.

    It is possible this is only an issue with some browsers (I use Internet Explorer), but I wanted others to know in the event they don’t have an RSS feed set up for WWNH and instead rely on the “Recent Comments” section to keep current.

Leave a Reply

