2710. Thoughts for a Wet Holiday


Anticipating a wet holiday weekend, I take a break. The following amuses me every time I come across it.

HOW DRY IS IT IN TEXAS? (Not original but I lost the source.)

A friend from Rockwall said he killed a mosquito that was carrying a canteen.

A man from Odessa said the chicken farmers were giving the chickens crushed ice to keep them from laying hard-boiled eggs.

At Lake Texhoma, someone caught a 28 lb. catfish that had ticks on it.

One year during my life in Plano, Texas, friends reported these events:

  • a fire hydrant was seen bribing a dog,
  • Baptists began baptizing with sprinkle bottles,
  • Methodists began using wet-wipes,
  • Presbyterians gave out rain-checks, and
  • Catholics prayed for the wine to turn back into water.

Other than that, living in Texas was great.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “2710. Thoughts for a Wet Holiday

  1. Sparkles

    Hi Guy,

    What are your thoughts on a guy saying he will stop a habit if I need it to accept his proposal and eventually marry him? I shook my head no on the subject for a few reasons. The habit is one I can live with, I have accepted this about him, and lastly because I did not feel comfortable with such a decision. The pressure of being held responsible for him relapsing felt overwhelming. If he is going to stop a habit it should be of his own choosing. However, I know a man is capable of changing in hopes of conquering a woman and he has not yet conquered me. I also feel he is very devoted to me. Did I chose well?

    Your Highness Sparkles,
    You chose very well. Now, watch his actions to confirm he is honest about the subject.
    Guy

Leave a Reply

