2751. The Incompetent Patient


For the last six days medical experts worked conscientiously to keep ahead of me and my aged habits while in their custody. I continue the mentally aging reversal into my childhood, and I’m determined it will be more fun than embarrassment and discouragement. It’s an amazing journey for me, but I have to raise all the fun.

So, that’s the story line. This is my report to blog readers amid reflections of my gratitude to the medical professionals at Memorial Hospital in Charleston, West Virginia.

I learned so much; mostly all new to me.

  1. As a doctor pushes a tube into my lung cavity a few inches from left nipple, the pain on a 1-10 scale temporarily but repeatedly rings the 15 bell. He used only a local anesthetic but local compensation helps. I’m surrounded by a gaggle of pretty nurses whose smiling faces cushion every pain until it subsides. It’s amazing that women don’t recognize how their smiles tell a man that all is okay at her end, so he can relax. If all is okay with her, no blame attaches to him. (Wives take notice.) Conclusion: A pretty smiling female face shrinks and shortens pain and helps convince one to relax and breathe in the nose and out the mouth.
  2. Living through my reversal into childhood, moans and verbal exclamations of pain help as they did when young. As a child, I didn’t know the impact my noises made; today I don’t care. However, then I recognize that guys don’t show weakness before gals, and that too attenuates my pain. As a child I wanted to complain; as an adult I hide my shame by reducing the moans and groans. Just the thoughts work to help hide the pain.

I’m so grateful for the smiling faces in the ER, especially the lady, Brandi, who convinced me ahead of time that it would be uncomfortable rather than painful. When I found out the difference, I couldn’t hold it against her; she was too pretty. I’m convinced that’s why God made all women pretty in their hearts. She can ease the pain of her man as needed (and as long as revenge doesn’t stir her heart).

  1. Next came the ICU and a new set of adventures. Five nights there and I made a disaster of the room three different times with three different nurses. All were men but I think it more coincidental than selective; I wouldn’t discriminate against them, but I probably would have been less adventurous and more circumspect if a gal had the duty with me that night. Seriously, better and more conscientious men I’ve not met for years. I couldn’t believe their calm demeanor recovering from my disturbances made while alone and flustered with urges to relieve urges upon urges upon what to do now. Who needs help with simple matters any man should handle for himself, such as don’t pee on the floor?

Three different nights. The men were Chuck, Nolen, and Ed. If I had a business of almost any kind and in need of professional conscientiousness, I’d try to hire them. Other noteworthy guys included Jason, Joey, Davon, and Chris.

Highly effectve at whatever they tackle or do. The gal nurses were also effective because of superior conscientiousness and, more later, good leadership. They included: Andrea, Lisa, Jessica, Jennifer, and Brianna.

  1. Next step was an overnight before checkout with more pretty faces to enjoy. Jenny, Sarah, Sally, Jessica, Carolina. I did not tear up the room either, just the bed and the floor. Conscientiousness and devotion to duty filled everyone of them, and I truly relished the enjoyment they brought me.
  2. I say enjoyment they all brought me. For decades I’ve been a student and teacher of leadership and management. I look for how an organization functions and assess its leadership. The attitude, morale, and conscientious functioning of the nurses at Memorial are the result of good or better leadership that spreads like an encouraging epidemic of good will and intent, which are precursors of good care. IOW, everyone works together so well their individual worth shoots skyward, which represents how I was treated for six days.

Individuals shine because they have a good place and way to show off their abilities—and, I have to add, their professional personalities, which I use to measure competence and effectiveness.

In the room I was incompetent and generated more work for the nurses. I’m grateful they were able to restore me—with every sign of forgiveness—to competence for my expected life at home. What a great batch of representatives of their profession.

For blog readers, I developed these thoughts to inject into blog material.

  • Silence in the face of a man’s accomplishments is the bedfellow of disrespect.
  • Silence in the face of a woman’s intentions and efforts rings as lack of her importance.

Finally, I struck both relationship gold and new blog material when I turned into Charleston Memorial Hospital.

Guy

18 Comments

Filed under Culture & Politics, Dear daughter, old school, Sociology 101, The mind

18 responses to “2751. The Incompetent Patient

  1. Anonymous

    🙂 ❤

  2. Iwannahear

    Glad you’re better and back.

  3. Delectable1

    God bless all those lovely health care professionals and use them to the glory of His name!

  4. Sending a “welcome home” and a blessing from the Emerald Isle 🙂

  5. gonemaverick

    Welcome back Sir Guy!

    Kudos to all staff at the Memorial Hospital in Charleston, West Virginia. Greetings to you all from South Africa.

  6. Stephanie

    thank you for this story, and we hope you’ll soon be feeling better…

  7. Inspiring!! Sounds like a delightful patient!!

  8. Lady Penny

    I am happy to learn you had a great team nursing you back to health and grateful that you are back with us! Looking forward to the new material!

  9. prettybeans

    WELCOME BACK SIR!!!!

    You’re truly brilliant for being able to clearly articulate and chronicle what must have been rather traumatic AND think of all of us who have missed you and kept you in our prayers.

    I’m very happy to read that you were given only the very best care by competent and compassionate medical staff. Isn’t it always a treat when we come across those who are able to extend both these values..?

    Greetings to you, to Sir Guy Jr who so graciously kept us in the loop and to all the lovely ladies (and gents) who frequent this blog from me in Tokyo, Japan 🙂

  10. Miss Gina

    So glad to see you back, Sir Guy! 😎

  11. Mary Wumths

    Welcome back Sir Guy, praying for your full recovery and can’t wait for your new golden material

  12. Kristiane Simmons

    Welcome back Sir Guy!
    I admire your work ethic, and persistence with blogging your insights from your hospital stay. Whew i am glad you are doing okay😌

  13. Meow Meow

    Thankful you are feeling better Sir Guy! Sounds like you weathered an extremely trying time and glad you are back in action. Take all the time you need to heal and return to wellness.

  14. 1jarofclay

    Welcome back Sir Guy! I’m so glad you’re better! ❤

    Magnolia

  15. Cocoa

    Thanks be to God, the ultra professional team and the extra pretty smiles for your return sir Guy. Welcome back 💜💚💙

  16. Lady Rose

    Welcome back, Sir Guy! I am so grateful you are back and already writing again!

  17. MsTeddy

    Glad to read you are back, Sir Guy! Wishing you and your family all the best. 🙂

  18. yellowblue

    im so glad your back and you are ok and that the people at the hospital treated you with the care and respect you deserve ❤ 🙂

Leave a Reply

