1789. Sex Difference Redux — Part 43: Dignity Wins IV


I continue with the story of my playing the mother who has been insulted by an unfaithful husband. Post 1787 describes me dealing with myself. Post 1788 describes me dealing with children. This article describes me dealing with my husband.

My recovery continues with husband likely to seek divorce as soon and maybe before I apply pressure to him. Consequently, I intend to avoid that pressure, reassert control over my potential as independent woman, and conduct myself in a highly dignified fashion.

Dignity. I repeat the definition of dignity, up to which I expect myself to live:

  1. a proper sense of pride and self-respect
  2. seriousness, respectfulness, or formality in somebody’s behavior and bearing
  3. the condition of being worthy of respect, esteem, or honor
  4. the respect or honor that a high rank or position should be shown
  5. a high rank, position, or honor.

It matters deeply that I view myself mastering each point in that model of dignity. My road to recovery lies with husband seeing and desiring to ‘re-inherit’ such character in a wife, namely me as the most unique creature of whom he’s aware.

His Situation. It matters not whether he was lured to cheat or sought it out of his primal urge to conquer. He’s no longer loyal to me in marriage for one simple reason: He doesn’t respect me enough to love me enough to devote himself to sexual faithfulness.

If he initiates his defense by threatening divorce, I can face it three ways. Accept it as inevitable, give in and take sucker punches to the psyche, or I can vengefully fight back with female tenacity. I discard the first two options as both unproductive for ‘my side’ and disadvantageous to my natural strengths. As to the third way, I go on offense to upgrade my existing dignity. That will produce the best result for me and, consequently, my children.

As with the rest of life, it’s a mind game. I take charge of my emotions and follow a strict regimen of thinking that puts me in the driver’s seat of my emotional future. If I let him control my emotions or dictate my behaviors, I lose both the divorce battle and much ability to live successfully after it.

My Condition. My greatest fear is potentially realized; whether actual or not, I seem abandoned. My greatest drive to nest, nurture, and nestle with loved ones goes up in smoke. My great want for a man alongside in case of tough times has seemingly vaporized. My need for a brighter future is squashed into mushy uncertainty for the near term. From those conditions I have to recover regardless of what he does.

My sunken sense of self-worth and importance adversely impacts the whole family, and I need my greatest strengths to weather the domestic storms ahead. My greatest burdens are my weakened self-esteem, -image, -confidence, and -respect. I don’t like myself as much as before. I lack the image that I can gain victory. I lack the self-confidence to stand up to anyone and everyone. And, I lack the self-respect to reinforce my personal importance to myself and others. To ease those burdens, I choose dignity as the cure.

I take charge to also prevent depression setting in. When I control my actions, I control my beliefs and emotions; admittedly it takes time, but it beats letting a man make a victim out of me.

I choose to do certain things in a dignified manner. I neither respect nor empathize with husband, but I can deal with him and generate victory for me. These things seem to be primary for appearing more dignified:

My Intention. I become a different woman overnight, a mental gymnast. I work completely to serve myself first and foremost. I forget husband as father, treat him as outsider, and restore my self-image as a woman, my self-esteem as a person, and my self-respect as a highly respected wife and mother. I handle the kids as needed to assuage their anger and fears but put all extra effort toward myself.

My Target. I am my primary target and not husband. I’m the one left to dither in the frozen wilderness of a shattered relationship. Recovery is everything. Snuggling up to someone else provides him an easy way out, or so he probably thinks, but how do I recover?

My Objective. I peaceably disassemble us as a couple without me becoming a quarrelsome nagger, shrew, or emotional burn out. He sees nothing but that he loses what he highly valued sometime past. He sees a woman as close as possible to the girl he initially married but more highly withdrawn and independent. Sounds like a tough order, and it is.

My Purpose. I have new purpose in life. I shift gears away from soft-hearted family tenderness and back into hard-headed premarital and pre-conquest practicality similar to that used to protect my most unique asset. I reinforce and resort to femininity, mystery, modesty, morality, virtual virginity, monogamous beliefs. I strengthen my female assertiveness, independence, and insistence that marital fidelity is holy in the eyes of both God and me. That he sinned is God’s business; that he broke vows is my problem. I do it all quietly and calmly and especially without preaching at him. I recognize that when I preach, he hoists his guilt barrier as first line of defense.

My Strategy. I set aside the children as a matter of concern with husband. We deal with ourselves almost exclusively. I refuse to let him interject the kids and cower behind their needs in order to win me to his side of the argument. If husband enables the kids to see me as the dumpee, it betrays him more than me. He can’t ever make it up to kids. They may forgive, but they never forget, and forgetfulness is needed to complete the bonding after such emotional trauma.

Betraying anyone to whom he has vowed allegiance means that he betrays his own conscience (if I was smart enough to choose a man with a conscience). To excuse himself, he relies on rationalizations that may involve lying to himself, which undermines a person’s mental strength. How reliable is one’s conscience once it’s self-betrayed? Or, what negotiating weakness befalls a man lacking in mental strength who lies to himself? He no doubt can live with himself, but it will be tougher and can interfere with compatibility with ‘the other woman’. I intend to exploit the weakness he brought on himself.

My Tactics.

  • I don’t reveal it to him, but I accept blame for our relationship not being fully successful. Even to myself, I provide no details and simply take responsibility of the whole rather than details or my behavior. Accuracy matters far less than perceptions. Accepting blame helps defuse his animosity and demonstrates an independence he thought I lacked. I blame him for nothing but also excuse him for nothing. Let his masculine imagination dwell on and massage the details that—left to him without my feedback—generate guilt.
  • Unless he leaves, we share our home as two occupants. I resist the urge to push him out the door, and I refuse to even think about my leaving. Essentially, we live separate lives under the same roof. It benefits my game plan to have him regularly exposed to my restored and newfound dignity.
  • I neither complain nor explain. If he leaves, he sees neither joy nor regret on my face. He doesn’t know how I feel about it, him, us, her, cheating, divorce, or anything else. If he threatens me even with the loss of my children, I will indirectly but convincingly let him know that it may not bother me. Silence, modeling a poker face, and perhaps a little acting from time to time will signal newfound independence for me. (After he cheats, I owe him neither full disclosure nor full sincerity about my feelings or plans.)
  • I may hate his guts, and he expects that I will. But indirectly I let him dangle in the wrong as he sees it with me showing only feminine dignity. I continue until my life absorbs full recovery to my liking. He sees a new me full of quiet and dignified surprise and purpose. He sees a greater price to be paid for dumping me. It’s more likely he will return in case I still seek that outcome.

My Conclusions. The toughest part? For some uncertain future, I expect to manage myself without receiving his love, affection, and intimacy. I strengthen myself to withstand the personal shock of no togetherness and closeness. I convince him and myself that I can do without presently in order to have it restored in the future. I have to reconceive and restructure my future but prevent myself becoming an emotional wreck— angry, vengeful, or bitter. With determination to succeed, handling all my other emotions becomes much easier. For example, by renouncing marital sex I make virtual virginity the greatest power behind my wifely control over pressures and events. It also helps restore my dignity, brighten my future, and refresh a dominant spirit he’s not seen recently.

The easiest part? He may cite excuses or think he has other reasons, but it boils down to this: He cheated because of lack of respect for me. So, I square off my well-rounded heels. If he doesn’t want me exclusively, he doesn’t deserve me at all. He’s not heard of virtual virginity, but he deserves to learn the hard way. I demonstrate an independent and strong will that husband has not seen before. From the new me he faces unending surprises with neither complaint nor explanation about sex.

Finally, I dodge the worst offense for keeping husband at home. I neither threaten nor strike back by being unfaithful to him. It might work as an equality bargain, tit for tat in my mind or girlfriends’ minds, but it never would work in his mind. He’d lose lasting respect for me, which is the opposite effect I desire. Not that I’m not justified in taking another man, but I can’t control events before, during, or through divorce without husband’s uber respect. And so, I finish with one of my favorite soundbytes: If he cheats, she wants to talk. If she cheats he wants to walk.

13 Comments

Filed under sex differences

13 responses to “1789. Sex Difference Redux — Part 43: Dignity Wins IV

  1. My husband cheated, confessed and three days later Iasked for a separation, then he continues his illicit behavior and gets on a plane to be with another woman. Returned three weeks later, to say he was sorry and that he has ceased contact with her and doesn’t want a divorce. Then wanted to work on our friendship and for us date one a month to recapture our footing from the affairs. Then I suggested couples counseling, after first appointment, he refused any further help one on one., because I questioned him about the woman’s number in the palm of his hand. Also get this been living a double life for the past 5 yrs or more. Now he says he is at peace with who he is andwhat he has done. Now I have ceased all contact, except email when dealing with the children’s needs. I’m letting go and moving on with my life….dignity and respect is the order of the day. Enough with the lies, the erratic behavior and the deception. I don’t foresee any reconciliation even now as a I still haven’t had full disclosure and I’m not waiting and hoping for him to come to his so called senses.

    Your Highness Lisa,

    Welcome aboard. It’s a great day when another pretty woman joins us on this cruise to WhatWomenNeverHear.

    Your wisdom shines through your story.

    Guy

  2. elizabeth

    I’m reading the above from Lisa and wondering about my own situation. I am so conflicted about what to do. I found out three weeks ago that my husband has been with another woman for 6 months. In our conversations he has admitted that he doesn’t think we can reconcile because he can’t take back what he’s done and he doens’t want to leave her. His son (17 years old) still lives with us every other week, so I moved out (I also am out of town several days each week for work, so this seemed like an ok option at the time). I have been trying to follow the advice in your articles around dignity and last Friday had a conversation with him where I told him I was working on forgiving him, forgiving her, forgiving myself (my marital regrets) and would try to move on. We both cried and hugged and I told him that he needed to work on forgiving himself or he would end up in the same situation again down the road. We both agreed that we wanted to remain friends. Now I’m not so sure if I should move back in (will this cause him to just be angry around me and drive him more toward her), continue to stay with friends and see him every now and again when I come over to see my step son (the idea of creating mystery and seeing the “new me”, or if I should file for separation and move out – hoping that he’ll see the error of his ways and come back to me so we can work this out. I still want to save the marriage…
    Elizabeth

    Your Highness Elizabeth,

    Bravo that you still want to save the marriage but to do it you will have to gain better control with the risk of losing it all. You seem to be doing many but not enough of the right things. I shall be talking about the male and female nature. Be advised that either one of you can outsmart the other or even yourselves.

    With those thoughts in mind, I suggest you figure out how to parlay the following tips to your advantage.

    1) Deny him sex with two women. Move from his bed and withhold sex until you restore the marriage without the other woman in his life. To maintain your confidence that you’re doing the right things, study and refocus on “pretty time” (806 and 1146) and the series Virtual Virginity, Dignity Amid Divorce, Devotion, Recover, and Recovery.

    2) Don’t try to talk your way into or out of anything with him. Go predominantly silent and persistently chaste. Make him evaluate what he REALLY wants in the vacuum you thus create. You can’t talk him into anything; you can only let him see you more like the woman he married and decide that you’re the most valuable and least expendable. As your worth and respect return, the other woman’s worth to him fades. Nothing will happen overnight so grow a comfortable crop of patience while you focus on winning the war rather than the daily battles he inspires to goad and upset you.

    You have to figure out how to do and balance the causes and effects such that you gain the advantage of his being confused as to where his single-minded devotion lies.

    Guy

  3. elizabeth

    Thanks Guy! I’m am really enjoying reading all the posts, but recognize that accomplishing what we set out to do takes time, patience and fortitude, but the answers are all there. I have worked on 1) above in your response – he actually was the one to stop sex – maybe it was guilt that he was with her or maybe he promised not to cheat on his girlfriend by sleeping with his wife), but whatever the reason, I did initiate once, just after I heard about the affair and it was awkward and obvious he was just trying to get through it. As for “pretty” – I am following that advice as well. As I have moved out, the opportunities for him to see me are limited to twice per week (drop off and pick up our dog)…but I am making the most of it – looking my best and remaining friendly and upbeat.
    I do have a few follow-up questions:
    1) I mentioned that we had a conversation last week where I told him I was going to try to move on – he now wants to meet this week to have what I believe to be a “dividing up the assets” conversation (prep for separation or divorce). Should I avoid the conversation b/c it’s not what I really want /(i.e. being “predominantly silent” and make him wonder…)? If I show up, do I act like it’s a business transactions and I don’t care – no negative emotions or crying – like I’m ok with all of this and will be fine without him? I’m guessing that regardless, he will go ahead and file if this is what he wants to do and my only option is to respond with dignity and fight for everything that I deserve. Try to part as friendly aquaintainces and get on with my life.
    2) That being said, should I file for legal separation first (I’m looking at separation b/c it “leaves the door open” should he fall in love with the new me again) If I file for legal separation will this have a negative reaction on him? Your articles talk about actions speaking louder than words and that men will repond better to actions than words – will filing be the “action” that signals independence and my ability to survive without him?
    3) If I don’t file, should I move back into the house and try again to survive living my life separately but under one roof and see what happens – maybe he files, maybe we just exist with him at her house all the time….and either he comes back to me or I just get fed up and leave for good.

    Obviously I’m struggling with how to gauge his reactions and plan my conversations and time around him to generate the most advantageous response. But like you said, I could outsmart myself here….

    Thanks again for all you do to help us women understand ourselves, our men and the world at large!
    Elizabeth

    Your Highness Elizabeth,

    I think separation is the wrong way to go. It just gives him time and maneuvering room to find a more suitable escape route. It applies no pressure or invitation for him to return to you.

    He’s in control of wanting to meet this week. You believe it’s for “dividing up the assets.” If you’re right, I suggest that on first mention of the subject, you withdraw immediately with the comment that you’re unprepared and keep walking.

    As what you should do next, I don’t know. However, it’s important for you to stay ahead but silent as to your intentions.

    You previously mentioned that you’re on the road part of each week and not home. Not much sense moving back in unless you can fix those absences. Your absences could have been what sparked his infidelity to begin with. If so, moving back in for a few nights a week won’t help you any.

    I see only two options: Quit your overnights on the road and move back in with determination. Or, get a lawyer, identify and claim all the assets he will let you claim, and file for divorce. If the shock and awe strategy doesn’t rock the loss of you to his core, nothing will and you’ve already lost him. If that’s so, you’re far ahead by having claimed assets and high ground for negotiation. Being thus pushed into the background for negotiating, he may make a turn around. But don’t count on it.

    Guy

  4. Emma

    So I am going through this process – my husband did cheat (multiple affairs) in our marriage. I am now over and done, he in return came back with I want a divorce and making my life a living hell. He wants to literally take me down for not wanting to stay married after all of his affairs. My question is how do I deal with such a man – its really taken a toll on me. I have applied the no complaints no explain strategy, I’ve been quiet open about all matters of the kids; everything else is a battle.

    Your Highness Emma,
    He’s acting childish. Your best offense is a good adult, mature defense that calms you first and foremost. You know what’s best for you, so focus on that. You have all it takes to overcome in the best interest of you and kids, so stick by your guns.
    Guy

    • Emma

      Mr. Guy – what if husband blames wive for the affairs and has zero remorse about them however, still thinks that he can be married. Saying things like if you give me another change / meet my half way I will work on us?

      He is still in contact with this women and feels that it is ok – since I am not in any shape or form in contact with him (only matters of the kids). He feels that since she is available that he doesn’t need me and if I wanted him I would be going after him. aka fighting to get his attention.

      I can’t make sense, but it seems that he purposely cheated to get my attention. He now thinks that it is ok to do what he did and has zero accountability for his actions. Sort of a confusing situation, we are technically separated while living in the house, and continues to use this excuse as a way to continue to see her. I am making zero moves on him. My question is – how would I know if I am moving in the right direction even if Divorce is the only answer or if he wants to come back and prove his worth?

      Your Highness Emma,
      Don’t explain yourself or complain about him. The more you fight for him, the more certain you will lose him. It makes you the seller instead of buyer. The only way for him to want you badly is for you to be unavailable on his terms but available on yours. He either fights for you, or you dump him and he needs to see that without being told. Otherwise he won’t be worth keeping and will continue as before.
      Guy

      • Emma

        P.S. I was raised by very strong males in my family and I’ve seen that when a man wants a women he goes hunting for what he wants. I don’t see him chasing me nor wanting to make amends – only via texts messages (words). nothing about his behaviors says that he wants us / me. Ugh

      • Emma

        That’s what I needed to hear! Would you mind explaining the “The only way for him to want you badly is for you to be unavailable on his terms but available on yours. He either fights for you, or you dump him and he needs to see that without being told”.

        What would fighting for me looks like? It seems that I am lost in my own pain that I can’t even see how bad this man has been to me.

        I should not be trying to fight for him nor initiating any conversations – even if he wants too…

        Your Highness Emma,
        It would look like his getting desperate not to lose you. His coming back home and leaving the other woman behind and doing it on his own rather than at your insistence.
        Guy

      • Emma

        Almost the end of the year… what a 2014! Your advise has been so spot on. I adopted the integrity and virtual v. moved to another room, zero complaints / nothing! Well, he didn’t care – at least to know it. He moved out and has had zero contact other than to angry email me about everything I am not and has not filed for divorce.

        I am in need to advise, how does one deal with an angry person? an angry soon to be ex? He continues to say that he will choose his family, but is doing everything with his actions that prove otherwise. IE: moved out, no contact, insulting, seeing the other women. He still says that he is in love and wants his family back, but no work on his end. He wants me to do it.

        I am starting to think that is better to let go and live my life. I am choosing integrity and living up to my values rather than conforming to the marriage he wants (do whatever, whenever).

        Emma.

        Your Highness Emma,
        The best way to deal with his anger is with peacefulness and as much silence as possible. He knows how to deal with your anger; years of practice. Without your exploding too, he’s lost for how to handle you and win. It’s much like VV. He can learn to appreciate you again for what all else you have to offer besides anger.
        Guy

  5. Emma

    Thank you so much!!! I was wondering if I was being too nice by not giving into his tantrums. There should be a plan for wives’ to deal with childish husbands – overcome divorce. 🙂

  6. Cinnamon

    Sir Guy,

    A friend’s husband (I will call him “Bob”) been having an “emotional affair” with another woman. There have been some problems in the marriage for a long time but this is the first sign of possible infidelity.

    Bob told my friend in detail about the other woman, including how she does all the things to help and support him that my friend doesn’t (listens to his problems, spends quiet time going for walks, etc.). He says he hasn’t had sex with her but my friend doesn’t care, she already feels betrayed. Is this normal for a husband in this situation to spill all these comparative details to the wife about how much superior his female friend is to his wife? My gut tells me Bob is trying to “guilt” the wife, which indicates he still cares about what she thinks of him, and that this “affair” is quite possibly a passing thing.

    Without getting into details I will say that Bob hasn’t been a good husband for a long time (leaving most financial and housework responsibilities to her). He is very wrapped up in New Age spirituality (albeit with a superficial “Christian” wrapping) which puts his “personal growth” at the centre of every interaction, and seems to have relinquished his role as head of the family and embraced his so-called “feminine side.”

    There are adult children involved who know about the emotional affair and are very angry with their father (whom they love). I have told her to read this series, but is there any further advice you can add for this situation? You have written elsewhere that emotional infidelity is worse for most women than sexual infidelity.

    Thank you

    • A.GuyMaligned

      Your Highness Cinnamon,

      “Is this normal for a husband in this situation to spill all these comparative details to the wife about how much superior his female friend is to his wife? My gut tells me Bob is trying to “guilt” the wife, which indicates he still cares about what she thinks of him, and that this “affair” is quite possibly a passing thing.”

      It’s his femmy side coming out as you mention in the next to last paragraph. It’s certainly not the masculine thing to do. Your friend may be a domineering wife, which could cause his withdrawal from his more manly position in marriage. In any event, he and wife are separating on their mutual values and he takes the weaker side.

      Further advice for her? Just shut up. Quit finding fault in him and what he does. Smother her urges to correct him and welcome him back into the fold and role of husband and not another woman. (Two ‘women’ in the same house works worse than restored masculinity and self-forgiving woman.)

      Guy

      • Cinnamon

        Sir Guy,

        It’s a rather complicated situation in that this couple has been informally separated for awhile now – basically, up until very recently, he lived in an apartment nearby but came and went every day as though he lived in the house (for meals, visits with children, holiday celebrations, etc.) The only change since her discovery of the Emotional Affair is that she told him she wanted the key to the house back, which he has handed over. They have not seen each other or spoken directly since,

        Apart from getting the key back and telling him what he did was wrong, she has followed the WWNH program. She is very angry and hurt but she is in control of her actions. She has not criticised him directly or behind his back to the children or extended family, although they know the separation has become more formalised. She has not said a word about the other woman.

        At present she is still paying the lion’s share of the household expenses including his car insurance, all kids’ expenses, etc. even though their respective incomes are roughly equal (this has been going on for a long time, unfortunately. She knows that she bears responsibility for allowing this to develop, and is now in recovery mode). She wanted to cancel his car insurance unilaterally without warning but I told her not to unless she wants to start a nuclear war which she will never win.

        What are the next steps? How does she approach the issue of finances now that the separation is more formal? I don’t think she is hopeful that he will change, but she wants to leave the door open as much as possible. At the same time, she feels she cannot continue to pay all the bills as she has been doing the last few years under the circumstances.

        Children and extended family have offered support to her and no one has attempted to defend his actions. The older sons are not speaking to him. He has been trying to get one of the daughters on his side though, saying things to her like “I didn’t do anything wrong.” When the daughter repeated it to her she ignored it.

        Your Highness Cinnamon,

        Nudge him some more. Without surprising him, quit paying his insurance and anything else that covers him. Then, informally, ask for financial support for the children.

        Some questions: At this point in time, should he consider returning, what could or would he expect in the way of her talking to him? Any different than when he moved out? Anywhere near what he used to hear out of her before they married? IOW, what about her character, nature, personality, perfectionism, nagging, pinging on him to do better could possibly appeal to him more now than before? Would he be returning to the same woman as when he left? The questions are really academic to make this point. He’s not likely to return to the same woman he left; he had enough of her s*** in the parlance of many men today. In that he was lured away in the first place, I would look for causal reasons there to support any hope for his return.
        Guy

        • Cinnamon

          Sir Guy,

          I have sent a follow-up question to you about this situation via email, as it contains some personal details that my friend does not want posted on the internet. Thank you.

Leave a comment