1143. Primal Beliefs: She’s Pretty


 

 

 

Reorganized, clarified, and reissued as #1752.

9 Comments

Filed under sex differences

9 responses to “1143. Primal Beliefs: She’s Pretty

  1. Princess Rita

    Your Uniqueness Princess Rita,
    Your original comment remains in lower case. I respond in caps.
    Guy

    Sir Guy, I still have so much trouble understanding the concept of being pretty, “just for me”. I don’t even have to look at myself in the mirror if I don’t want to. IF YOU DON’T, YOU’LL DISLIKE YOURSELF MORE. THE MIRROR BRINGS SATISFACTION TO YOUR EGO, OR YOU AIN’T USING IT RIGHT.

    I feel like getting pretty is always for society. Society rewards or withholds rewards to some extent based on our looks (especially women). So it’s for me only in that I get rewarded for looking pretty…. METHINKS YOU MISREAD SOCIETY. SOCIETY REWARDS SUCCESS AND YOUR LOOKS MERELY ADD MAYO TO THE SANDWICH.

    So I guess I’m asking is it really for us that we “pretty up” or is it for others? FOR YOURSELF OR YOU TURN A VITAL PART OF YOUR LIFE OVER TO OTHERS. YOU SHINE ELSEWHERE WHEN SATISFIED WITH THE WAY YOU LOOK. IT HAS THE ADDED BLESSING OF TAKING YOU AWAY FROM SELF-CENTEREDNESS. THAT COMPLIMENTS OTHERS, WHICH TRULY MAKES YOU SHINE.

    Sorry…you know I’m not a troll but I just have trouble with this concept. TROUBLE PERHAPS BUT SEE TOMORROW’S POST 1146 FOR MORE DETAILS.

    Guy

    • Sharon

      Princess Rita, perhaps it has to do with a quiet self-confidence. To prettify oneself says: I’m worth taking care of; I want to add my own small contribution of beauty to the world; I want to be a good example and encouragement to younger females. Even if no one else will see her, to be fresh, clean, cheerful (in clothing and demeanor) on the outside can give such a lift to the inside of a female! Compare the loveliness of dress and manners in the Jane Austen movies or the classiness of women’s styles in movies from the 30’s and 40’s to the “Waterworld” dressing of today (denims and T-shirts). Consider the possibilities for societal change that a feminine woman might work by prettifying herself.

      Your Wonderfulness Sharon,
      Mrs. Guy asked me to pass a “well done” to you. She loves your thinking and writing.
      Guy

      • Princess Rita

        ok…I think I’m just splitting hairs. I do feel much better about life when I look my best…it’s like magic!

    • Princess Rita, I struggle with the same questions and attitudes, but agree with Sharon. Perhaps somehow in taking care of yourself, something changes inside you, and this internal change triggers other changes, both internal and external, from others and from yourself. I’ve noticed with myself, that I act differently, based on how I’m dressed — I remember one time in particular when I was a teenager and got some cool, funky shoes, and I *definitely* acted more cool/funky when I wore them; but when I dress up, I act more elegantly than if I’m wearing sweats or pajamas. I still *prefer* comfortable clothes, and have to work on wearing nicer clothes when I’m at home, but I’m trying to incorporate the changes for myself (although I still feel mostly like I’m doing it for my husband at home, or for society away from home); otherwise, it’s just hypocritical, and won’t work.

      Your Princesstial Highness Kathy,

      I explain some details behind one of your thoughts. If you prettify yourself for husband at home, you put forth much effort that easily goes unrecognized. Taken for granted, how long before your efforts seem fruitless? How long before he seems not worthy of daily efforts? Are you doing all the work to make the relationship work, while he continues to look like a slob? How long do you continue? How soon do you strike back just to get even? How much lost time can and do you spend worrying about it?

      OTOH, prettify yourself solely for yourself and those negatives go away. You only have to satisfy yourself and prevent letting personal standards slip away. If you let them slip, your character traits weaken before your eyes at mirror time. You keep getting poorer results, and the mirror reflects your ego and dissatisfaction sets in at the start of the day. Kind of ungood, really, because husband probably notices that his bride has disappeared.

      Guy

      • Ettisen

        Thank you. I think I understand now. Pretty time has not stuck with me because I was not doing it for myself but for others and since I did not get the result I was expecting I did not put anymore effort into it. Pretty time is self-respect and love for myself above all others which is the only way it can stick because it comes from within. It’s not a veneer.

    • Catherine

      “YOU SHINE ELSEWHERE WHEN SATISFIED WITH THE WAY YOU LOOK. IT HAS THE ADDED BLESSING OF TAKING YOU AWAY FROM SELF-CENTEREDNESS. THAT COMPLIMENTS OTHERS, WHICH TRULY MAKES YOU SHINE.” -Guy

      This wonderfully explains how upgrading my appearance to fit the bridal image I have for myself is a deep well of mysterious joy. 🙂

  2. Simplicity Evermore

    Every Girl wants to feel like a princess. And we owe it to ourselves to feel like that everyday. So I agree with Kathy and Sharon

  3. Danielle

    This is so crazy how this works. I’ve had my hair back in a little bun and wearing sweats for a while (if hair is too wild I bun it) and I feel like I’m going crazy. It’s like I don’t feel feminine unless my hair is out. I don’t want to talk to anybody.And I don’t want anyone looking at me. I miss my pretty time 😦 It’s surprising the effect it has on my day. I’m under the hair dryer as I type this lol

    Your Exquisiteness Danielle,
    If you haven’t read it, article 806 describes how it all works for the betterment of women.
    Guy

Leave a comment